Walk With Jesus: Stations of the Cross

Walk With Jesus

The Stations of the Cross refers to the depiction of the final hours (or Passion) of Jesus, and the devotion commemorating the Passion.  Often, the Stations of the Cross is an action prayer with people walking to fourteen different stations and stopping to pray at each one.  At each station we use our senses and our imagination to reflect prayerfully upon Jesus’ suffering, Death, and Resurrection, and to simply experience the visual images to reflect on Christ’s love for us.

You’re not limited to praying the Stations of the Cross during Lent, though. You can pray it whenever you want to reconnect with Jesus, wherever you are! 

Pray the Stations of the Cross in a Church

All Catholic churches have depictions of Christ’s Passion and death called the Stations of the Cross, The Way of the Cross or Via Dolorosa (way of suffering). In many churches, the Stations of the Cross are depicted in stained-glass windows, but other media are used as well, including paintings and stone or wood carvings and sculptures. 

The visual representation of these scenes can help you imagine the events of the Jesus’ suffering and crucifixion. You can even place yourself in each scene, thinking about what it would have been like to watch from the crowd as Jesus fell under the weight of the cross, for example.

Stations of the Cross at Most Blessed Sacrament in Oshkosh

Join us for prayer in the Church at the St. Mary site (605 Merritt) for Stations of the Cross Fridays during Lent at 6:00 PM.

Pray the Stations of the Cross At Home

Whether on foot or from a favorite chair, you can practice this devotion to walk with Jesus through his suffering and death. Even if you’re not following an actual route, you can still make like a medieval pilgrim and take each station as a reminder to pause and reflect on God’s unshakable love for you.

Candle Stations

Use this simple prayer format to engage the family in the Passion of Jesus. Beginning with 12 lit candles, read each station and extinguish a candle until all is dark.

Stations of the Cross Chaplet

This chaplet consists of 15 groups of 3 beads each, between which are medals representing the stations of the cross. An additional 6 beads are added as well as a crucifix.

Stations of the Cross Prayer Box

In a small box, place one item that represents each station. Then, hold the items as you pray through the stations. This link mentions creating a prayer box for children, but adults could use it to guide their prayer as well!

Get in Touch

(920) 231-9782
435 High Ave. Oshkosh, WI 54902

Published by ymkbird

Trying to set the world ablaze in the frozen tundra. (Luke 12:49)

%d bloggers like this: